On Absurdity

Who am I? Why do I exist? What is the meaning of life? These questions man has asked himself so many times, pondering his existence and the purpose behind it. Ask society and it will tell you: become successful, get married, have kids, grow old, and die happy. Yet there are many odd ones, individuals who believe that the answer must be more complicated than that; that surely happiness is not attainable merely through conformity. The answer that seems to be so unreasonable, so unacceptable, is one that makes the most sense for them all: life is absurd. No matter how man lives his life, even if he remains oblivious, even if he chooses to rebel, the fact still remains—humans are uninvited guests in an indifferent universe.

4 thoughts on “On Absurdity

  1. Although I have not yet seen The Truman Show, I agree with you. I believe that accepting life’s absurdity helps us free ourselves of thinking that we have to follow certain rules, leading us to live more meaningful lives.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Please watch that film! It is refreshing. Most of the time I feel like I am living in a television show. How much of my life is really happening? I completely agree. We should all be encouraged to break free of society and get more from life. I am temping in an office at the moment before I start my teacher training, and my colleageus are not people, they are machines. They have the same routine every day because our system tells them they need to. They get up, work at the office, and go to bed. I suggested going for drinks after work on a Wednesday and they replied “Not on a school night.” We should not be living for the weekend! We are taught to work five days a week and enjoy ourselves on two, this is not right. Every day is important!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I just watched the film! It really is thought-provoking and sadly, the society shown in the movie is just our society now blown up out of proportion. I plan on writing about the movie because I have so much to say about it.
      Anyway, I wish you good luck in finding an enjoyable group of friends haha. I can’t really say my life is any different than Truman’s.

      Liked by 1 person

What do you think? :)

